Just another WordPress.com site

Gratitude, Takes 3 and 4

Well, on our great national day of giving thanks, I was too occupied with family (there were sixteen of us here yesterday) to post, so I am trying for forty today. If I get to thirty and am interrupted, I’ll aim to finish up tomorrow.
41. My husband’s quick reflexes and our guardian angels that kept us safe both times drivers veered into our lane on our trip down here
42. Rain rather than snow for our long drive
43. The real possibility of snow soon, very soon
44. The way my niece’s face lit up when I brought out the cheese pie.
45. My MIL’s WI-FI
46. An email from my BIL on a sailing trip this week
47. Not needing to hit the Black Friday sales
48. Our cat seems to be getting better about being in the car
49. My MIL putting us all up so we don’t need a hotel
50. Sitting with my SIL as she planned her Black Friday shopping and I knitted
51. The Water Coach app to remind me to drink water
52. Finding a new app to remind me about medicines
53. That each of us have enough electronic toys that I won’t be shopping for those this year
54. Friends and family who truly welcome homemade gifts
55. Friends and teachers who expand my handwork repertoire
56. More than enough books
57. Knowing when enough is enough and not renewing two magazine subscriptions for next year
58. My daughter’s boyfriend joining us for Thanksgiving
60. Knowing where to go for a few quiet moments alone in a house with sixteen people
61. Verizon’s freebies on “Connection Day”
62. Several upcoming Christmas concerts (Yes, they are during Advent, but I love them anyway.)
63. Figuring out how to ride in our new rowboat without getting seasick
64. My new pretty purple floral life vest!
65. Bass Pro gift cards, probably enough to buy a small motor for the rowboat
66. The prospect of a trip to Bass Pro — this usually means dinner in their restaurant
67. A husband who fishes
68. My own pink fishing rod: Fish Like Pink, you know!
69. Apps that support my Faith, like Laudate and National Catholic Register
70. Blogs that support my Faith, like The Littlest Way and Devotionals Daily
71. Living where it’s not illegal to be Catholic
72. My husband’s 31 years of service to our country: 26 in the Army and now 5 as a Navy Scientist
73. My daughter’s dedication to her students
74. That my daughter shares my stitching hobby and goes fishing with her dad, too
75. That all five of our parents (I have a stepmother, too) are still alive and healthy
76. My in-law’s 50+ years of marriage and my father and stepmother’s 35+ years: such good examples in these days of throw-away relationships
77. My own 27+ years: blessings through thick and thin
78. That our daughter’s boyfriend is Catholic
79. Hot and cold running water (Do we realize how precious this is?)
80. This chance to count my blessing (Thank you, Jenny!): a great set-up for my day!

Leave a Reply

